2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year

Two Teachers from Robbinsdale Area Schools Nominated for 2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year Award
Posted on 01/27/2020
Janet Rein and Billie Pace-Craczyk-MelsonRobbinsdale Area Schools (RAS) is pleased to announce two of our teachers have been nominated for the 2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year award. Congratulations to Janet Rein and Billie Pace-Graczyk-Melson!

“We are proud to celebrate Ms. Rein and Ms. Pace-Gaczyk for their nominations,” shared RAS Superintendent, Dr. Carlton D. Jenkins. “We have exceptional educators in our district who are dedicated to academic excellence for all students,” he said.

Ms. Rein is a Kindergarten teacher at Lakeview Elementary in Robbinsdale, MN. Lakeview is the District’s exclusive International Baccalaureate elementary school. Ms. Pace-Graczyk is a Life and Earth Sciences teacher at Sandburg Middle School, in Golden Valley, MN; she was also the 2019 Robbinsdale School District Teacher of the Year.

“It is great to see two outstanding teachers from Robbinsdale represent our district in this year's selection process for Minnesota Teacher of the Year. This recognition is deserved of their earnest, committed and inventive teaching,” said Peter Eckhoff, President of the Robbinsdale Federation of Teachers.

According to Education Minnesota, this year marks the 56th Minnesota Teacher of the Year award, with 134 candidates ranging from pre-kindergarten to 12th grade, Early Childhood Family Education and Adult Basic Education. “The 2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced Sunday, May 3, at the Saint Paul RiverCentre. Over the coming weeks, a 25-member panel of community leaders will name a group of semifinalists and finalists,” stated Education Minnesota in a press release.